Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Meet Founding Member Bunny Rosenberg

Posted 11-16-2018 12:30 PM

@Bunny Rosenberg
    Volunteer & Foster Care Manager
    Muttville Senior Dog Rescue
    San Francisco, CA

Tell us a little about you and your history in animal welfare.

BR: I am the Volunteer & Foster Care Manager at Muttville Senior Dog Rescue in San Francisco, California. In this role, I oversee the volunteer program and send dogs into temporary foster homes while they await adoption. I have also chaired Muttville’s annual fundraising gala Senior Prom for the past three years. You can find me around Muttville simultaneously scheduling a volunteer on the calendar, answering an email, and dressing up a pekingese in the season's latest fashions.

Prior to Muttville, I worked as a Media Curation Analyst for JPMorgan Chase & Co. While working there in 2012, I adopted Muttville dog #1541, a chubby chihuahua I named Hemingway. I fell in love with Muttville's mission, the dedication of the organization's staff and volunteers, and of course the dogs. In late 2012 I began volunteering at Muttville founder Sherri Franklin's home, soon including an evening shift at HQ, then was sneakily talked into fostering. I made the transition to full-time employee in May 2014.

I received a BA in English and film studies magna cum laude at University of the Pacific and an MA in International Studies with highest distinctions from Concordia University. I was recently re-appointed as a Commissioner on the Commission of Animal Control and Welfare where I'll serve a minimum two year term.

What's an accomplishment that you are most proud of in your career?

BR: Several years ago, six months before our huge annual fundraising gala, we suddenly lost all of our event support and had to start from scratch! We had no game plan in place and needed to figure out how to organize our largest fundraising event of the year for 400 attendees.