Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Canine Distemper

Posted 10-03-2021 02:25 PM

Hi, It's my first time posting here and I hope it's the right group.

I am from country Georgia and we have thousands of stray dogs therefore quite often we have Canine Distemper outbreaks... Not very good situation, to be honest.

One month ago I rescued a 3 months old puppy on the beach of the black sea. I had a doubt that she might had a contact with an infected dog therefore I took her to vet and tested for CD, she was negative and her blood sample seemed fine so three vets advised me to vaccinate her.  Exactly one day after vaccination nausea started and Canine Distemper test was positive... We started treatment and for 15 days she was doing fine though everyone was telling me that she was very young and at risk, also vaccinating her during incubation actually worsened her situation... Neurological signs started on 19th of September and our precious girl passed away on 27th... We thought she was recovering when suddenly her lungs started to fail. We are so heartbroken that from now on I intend to help other people with such cases.

The lady who was helping us, has saved hundreds of dogs from Canine Distemper and she told me that every time a Husky or Laika is infected, it's almost impossible to save them and my puppy was a mix of Laika too. We really wonder if there is a statistic somewhere about breeds and CD, maybe there is some genetic issue or maybe it's about the treatment because she told me, she only to managed to save one Husky, any other time the cases get very complicated. She even has a suspicion that the drug Ribavirin does not have positive effect on these breeds so I it would be really helpful to hear from some of you who have experience with distemper. Is it coincidence with our country or are Huskies and Laikas or are they really more vulnerable to CD?

Many Thanks

#CaseManagement*
    #DisasterRelief
    #Medicine,SurgeryandSterilization