Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Teaching Dog to Leave Cats Alone

Posted 04-04-2020 12:28 PM

Hello - I adopted a new dog about three weeks ago. I already had a resident dog and two cats in the house when I adopted the new dog. The cats and the resident dog get along great and with no problem. However, I am having a little trouble getting the new dog to behave appropriately around the cats and not bother them.

I have been trying to train the newly adopted dog to leave the cats alone by rewarding him with treats for being calm around the cats and by teaching him the "leave it" command. However, he is a highly excitable dog who thinks everything is a game.

If the cats are doing their thing and get his attention, he will chase after them (one cat more than the other). If the cats are in a hiding place he can't get them, he will stay nearby and start growling, barking, and air-snapping (I'm no expert, but it seems like it is all in a playful way).

The cats have been giving their signals to tell the dog to stay away (growling, hissing, swiping at him, etc.) - but he doesn't listen. One cat even landed a pretty good swipe to his head. He was a little wary for a day or two, but is still not deterred from bothering the cats.

I have blocked off an area for the cats where they can go and the dog cannot. However, the cats like to be around people and want to sit near me. I don't know if the dog gets jealous because when he sees the cats getting close to me, he starts his air-snapping and "talking" toward the cats.