Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Clinic Staffing Structure

Posted 07-02-2019 01:14 PM

Hi everyone!

I am a vet tech and work as the medical manager for a shelter that takes in around 1000 animals per year.  We are doing both owner surrender and transport, along with some surrender prevention programs.

We are going to be redoing our medical space to add in the ability to do surgery.  With that comes a long term plan to not only start doing surgery for animals in shelter (yahoo!) but to also, down the road, begin providing low cost community medicine to the public (S/N and basic wellness/preventative services).

My specific question (though I would welcome ANY input at all that you have with starting up surgery, low cost services, etc.) is for those of you who are already providing some of these services (or at least are doing surgery in house)- how does your staffing work for this?  Right now I am the only full time medical person on staff.  I have a contract veterinarian that I work with weekly and by phone/email, but that's it- it's just her and I.  Obviously, in order to start surgery and eventually community medicine, we will need to extend our staffing.  So, I'd love to hear how any of you who are doing this staff it and what you have for staffing structure/organization.

I'm also interested to hear if any of you have two different veterinarians- one for shelter medicine, and one for surgery.  Our current shelter vet, while awesome, is a veterinary physical therapist in her other work life and has no interest in surgery, so we would be looking at hiring a vet specifically for surgery purposes.  If you do this, how do you work with the situation for ordering medications/supplies, in particular controlled substances?

Welcome to any input at ALL!!  Thank you!

#Medicine,SurgeryandSterilization

• 2.  RE: Clinic Staffing Structure

Posted 07-02-2019 01:43 PM