Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Fireworks

Posted 07-04-2019 09:01 PM

Good evening, this is my first time adopting a kitten and I was wondering if the outdoor fireworks can effect the kittens mood? She is whiny?!

#General

• 2.  RE: Fireworks

Posted 07-05-2019 10:18 AM

How did your kitty do? Both my cat and my dog have been socialized to loud noises and they stay indoors, so were not bothered at all. 

#General

• 3.  RE: Fireworks

Posted 07-05-2019 04:10 PM

Fireworks may continue all weekend this year.    Fireworks bother many dogs,  either frightens them or hurts their ears.   I wouldn't be surprised if cats are bothered as well. many cats will be better at hiding their feelings as a survival instinct so it might not be as obvious that they are troubled.

Sometimes using cotton balls in dogs ears helps.  Not sure if this would work for cats as their ears are so much smaller.  If you try it make sure to only use cotton in outer ear.  Try anything else to minimize sound . Also if cat is comforted by being held,  by all means offer comfort.   Cat might also react to loud thunderstorms.

Just my thoughts, hope it helps.

#General

• 4.  RE: Fireworks

Posted 07-06-2019 12:50 PM

Sure, I think the kitten was probably frightened. Were you with her to see her reaction to the noise? How did she respond if you were there? If you were not there, hold her and cuddle her lots. Be very gentle and keep noise down in her environment. She needs tender loving care even if her whining is not do to fireworks noise. Keep her close, sleep with her close to you. Touch her often and say her name gently and with a smile of love and understanding.

#General

• 5.  RE: Fireworks

Posted 07-08-2019 07:31 AM

Hi Chell!