Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Community Training/Behavior sessions

Posted 01-16-2019 07:20 AM

Hello, 

We are currently offering training classes/sessions for members of the public with their animals. The biggest problem is that we have people make appointments, and then no call/no show. I tried having people make the payment ahead of time to secure their spot and the number of people signing up for assistance dropped.

Has anyone else seen this as a challenge? If so, what is the best way to ensure that people show up to appointments? 

#AnimalBehavior,TrainingandEnrichment

• 2.  RE: Community Training/Behavior sessions

Posted 01-16-2019 10:08 AM

Same here! I'd love to see some responses. 

• 3.  RE: Community Training/Behavior sessions

Posted 01-17-2019 04:44 PM

I work as a canine behavior & training professional. In addition, I also offer free behavior and training for the rescue I direct.  I can tell you that through my dog training business, my clients pay in advance, in full,  before they get a booking, and cancellations must be 48 hours in advance.  These clients tend to be very grateful and do good work with their dogs, fill out client satisfaction surveys, give nice testimonials, etc.  Folks who receive free behavior mod/training through the rescue get a ton of help, including middle of the night email/text help at all hours, yet they tend to not check in regularly, nor even fill out the client satisfaction surveys.  This is why most qualified dog trainers insist on being paid what they are worth--because giving discounts and freebies can tend to result in being seen as less valuable.