Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  OSHA Safety and the risk/liability to our organization

Posted 01-21-2018 07:24 AM

Hi Everyone,

we are having such and important discussion over in behavoior about OSHA Safety, the law risk management,and liaibility that I thought it would be important enough to move to its own question, rather then just being in one category.

I want to restate that while I am not a lawyer, my role was to explain the law to College students and businesses as a region 9 federal OSHA trainer for 17 years before my  second stroke took me out of the work place. 

If you belong to a 501c3 or other form of business except a sole proprienter or partnership, you are subject for Federal OSHA law that no state can do less than.   Some states have their state OSHA laws that go belond federal OSHA, like California, that is so strident, for instance, they tell you what to have in your first aid kid where the feds tell you nationally to assess your risk and fit your kit to the hazard.  A love Arizona OSHA who has said" well if its good enough for the feds, its good enough for us" so six months after a federal law is passed, Arizona adopts it without revision. (Takes of the federal cover and puts on Arizona's. (vbg)

Maybe Best Friends coulld get behind sponsoring a national standard in 2019, that would help protect  the pet related industry. especially the non-profits that rely so heavily on volunteers that are also considered "employees" according to 1910.2 - (and if you dont know what 1910.2 is, your agency has put you at risk from OSHA's point of view).