Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Order of operations

Posted 07-14-2020 09:24 PM

Hi community.  I'm trying to get a small animal rescue off the ground and I'm confused on the order I should be doing things?  For example, I can't start taking donations until I have a license, and I can't do that until my 1023 is approved so when do I start building my foster network and how can I if i'm not an official 501c3 yet?  I can't start pulling dogs until im approved and also have some funds.  So what is the order in which this all takes place.  Please help!  I want to do this so bad but i need some direction!

#OrganizationalManagement

• 2.  RE: Order of operations

Posted 07-15-2020 07:40 AM

Hi Andrea, how exciting this must be for you.  I am curious to hear what experienced, experts in this field have to say.  I am not one of them.

I'm going to go out on a limb and guess at some ideas for you, but keep in mind I have never done this before.

1)  The first thing I would do is put a business plan together.  Include your mission statement.  This shows others what your plans are, and also keeps you on track.  Include your goals, short term and long term.  Include all of your plans, fostering, how you will continue to get funds, medical care including medications, leashes, bowls, toys, blankets, etc.

2)  Look into grants for funds needed for licensing, and funds for the 501C3, as well as any other expenses involved to get you off the ground.  Once this is done you can start reaching out to others for funds, volunteering, and in kind donations.