Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Do you offer temporary crisis housing for pets of people suffering addiction/domestic violence/etc?

Bethany Wynn Adams

Bethany Wynn Adams08-20-2019 01:45 PM

Bethany Wynn Adams

Bethany Wynn Adams08-21-2019 07:22 AM

Laura Taylor

Laura Taylor01-22-2020 03:01 PM

• 1.  Do you offer temporary crisis housing for pets of people suffering addiction/domestic violence/etc?

Posted 08-20-2019 12:02 PM

I'm an editor for Animal Sheltering magazine seeking shelters with programs that offer short term housing for people's pets while they are homeless/sick/otherwise temporarily unable to house or care for their pets. I'd love to hear from anyone who has a program like this and potentially feature them in our Winter issue. Thanks in advance!

#FosterPrograms

• 2.  RE: Do you offer temporary crisis housing for pets of people suffering addiction/domestic violence/etc?

Posted 08-20-2019 12:58 PM

We do! It's very limited, since we are a small facility and do not receive any funding for it (which we would love some!), but we have a "Continued Care" program in which we house animals for individuals that are temporarily homeless, victims of domestic violence, hospitalized, etc. www.humanesocietyofpinellas.org

#FosterPrograms

• 3.  RE: Do you offer temporary crisis housing for pets of people suffering addiction/domestic violence/etc?

Posted 08-20-2019 01:07 PM

Thanks for responding! That's great! Would you mind PMing me contact info for the best person I can reach out to about your program? (Looks like it's emergency boarding/pet resources?)

#FosterPrograms

• 4.  RE: Do you offer temporary crisis housing for pets of people suffering addiction/domestic violence/etc?

Posted 08-20-2019 12:58 PM

This is definitely an major area of need in our communities - I would love to see how something like this could be set up at my org.

#FosterPrograms