Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Meet Founding Member Scott Trebatoski

Posted 09-07-2018 11:37 AM

Having worked in animal control/public sheltering for nearly 20 years, get to know Founding Member Scott Trebatoski!

@Scott

Department Director
    Hillsborough County Pet Resource Center
    Tampa, Florida

Tell us about you and your history in animal welfare.

ST: I’m originally from Wisconsin where I worked in retail management for a large $1 billion+ sales retailer before returning full-time to graduate school for my MBA. From there I went on to working in the HR field and eventually found myself working for Lee County government in Florida. In an unusual turn of events I ended up working to fix human resources problems in the Animal Services Department. Shortly after starting in this field I was tapped to be president of the Florida Animal Control Association and I was appointed by the Governor of Mississippi to run the companion animals response for the entire state of Mississippi for two weeks following Hurricane Katrina. From that point I have stayed in the public sheltering and animal control field in Florida – Lee County, Jacksonville and now Hillsborough County.

I am an expert in government relations, writing and getting ordinances passed, innovative programs including collaborations between government and private organizations, HR challenges in this field, emergency management and response to hurricanes, community cat programs, turning around public shelters from high-kill to low-kill status in a quick timeline, and a number of other skills learned in over 20 years of working as director of a public animal control and sheltering operations with intake between 15,000 and 20,000+ annually.

What's an accomplishment you're most proud of in your career?