Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Adoption Funds

Posted 01-06-2020 04:57 AM

This is my first time fostering and of course I fell in love with the dog after 1 day! He’s the perfect fit for my family and with two little kids, that is no small accomplishment. Our issue is that we can’t afford the maintenance that would be involved in adopting him- mostly vet care since he has allergies and is in need of daily meds. Is there any avenues I could look to for help? 

Of course if it turns out there isn’t then I will have to allow another family to adopt him but if there’s any way to prevent sending him to yet another home I would be so grateful! 

#AdoptingaPet

• 2.  RE: Adoption Funds

Posted 01-06-2020 05:18 AM

Don't be shy about talking with the adoption coordinator at the rescue ask the same question.  Some rescues have set aside funds to help adopters pay for needs such as those of which you speak.  You'll never know until you ask. If not, you might consider the other family expenses that you might be able to do without to make this work.  In my family I know that one dinner out a month pays for the meds for my dogs!

#AdoptingaPet

• 3.  RE: Adoption Funds

Posted 01-06-2020 06:49 AM

Budgeting our family is definitely on the to-do list, I will sit down and see what we might be able to come up with! Unfortunately there aren’t any funds available at the shelter I’m fostering for but I’ll check and see if there are other options they might recommend.

#AdoptingaPet

• 4.  RE: Adoption Funds

Posted 01-06-2020 08:27 AM

Hi EM! 

I know what you are going through!  My hubs & I have been fostering for about 15 years now (kittens, cats) and we find a 'match' for our family about once or twice a year...  We have a 'rule' around here... JUST SAY NO...  I know that is a simple answer to what you all are going thru, but that works for us.