Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only
  • 1.  Meet Founding Member Kim Kamins

Posted 10-19-2018 11:11 AM

Get to know the co-founder and CEO of Fearless Kitty Rescue located in Fountain Hills, Arizona.

@Fearless Kitty aka Kim Kamins and her team at Fearless Kitty Rescue have built an oasis for strays and abandoned kitties that are often found wandering the desert in excruciating heat and for owner-surrendered cats who might otherwise go to high-kill shelters. Fearless Kitty Rescue was founded on the belief that all cats and kittens deserve a chance to be a FEARLESS cat

Tell us about you and your history in animal welfare.

KK: I'm originally from Chicago and moved to Arizona 14 years ago. Lucky for me I no longer "work" except as a full time volunteer for Fearless Kitty Rescue. I am a retired police officer, a profession that taught me many things. I also have a B.A. in Industrial/Organization Psychology and an M.A. in Clinical Psychology. I'm the co-founder and CEO of Fearless Kitty Rescue and have done everything from helping create the organization, including the name and logo, scooping poop, mopping, getting kitties through ringworm to now running the Board of Directors. I started in rescue 9 years ago by volunteering at a local Petco which housed a rescue. After two years with that rescue, we started our own because we saw the future of animal rescue was changing and that rescue was not. We feel we are a very progressive animal rescue organization following and tracking everything (especially Social Media) and how it is impacting and supporting the work we do.

What are you most proud of in your career?

KK: I am, without a doubt, most proud of starting an amazing and successful cat rescue from the ground up. There are many people in rescue today but only a handful actually started the rescue they are involved with.

What did you want to make sure Fearless Kitty Rescue did differently than what you had observed in other rescues?