Animal Welfare Professionals

View Only

Help! - constipated neonate puppies - anyone dealt with this?

• 1.  Help! - constipated neonate puppies - anyone dealt with this?

Posted 06-13-2020 10:02 PM

Hi folks,

I have a litter of seven 17 day old puppies, they weight average 2.6 lbs.  I am not new to dogs or rescues or training but I am new to neonates and despite tons of research I have not found a vet experienced with young puppy problems - so here I am today. I am not judging vets or anyone, just worried for these little guys. I need advice from people with EXPERIENCE successfully raising neonates.

I have the Mom, and all 7 pups, shepherd hound mix (Mom looks just like a black Pharaoh hound would, 45 lbs.) all seeming healthy and growing fast from birth. Mom was not dewormed, so now has giardia popping up  in her stool, she has had diarrhea more than not no matter what I try and despite loads of nutritional nursing bitch food and supplements her milk is almost nonexistent, probably due to the parasitic stress and she is a naturally thin, athletic 2 year old. Per a vet's recommendation we bottle fed them on Esbilac, which I learned from breeders can make them bloated and gassy.

As a result of their parasite load (they were dewormed on pyrantel at 2 weeks), and being kept a little too warm (live and learn) after day 10, and the goats milk esbilac, they are terribly constipated. They have very healthy appetites, and now NOT dehydrated, but I never see them poop and their abdomens are tight. FYI I switched to Myra's formula and they love it. https://www.facebook.com/myra.savantharris/posts/10154675900560704

A week ago they were crying and panting it was so bad, now that I know what the problem is per my vet I began giving the poor things warm water enemas with a tad of mineral oil. It works for some, so far I get results for 1-3 pups at a time. Been doing this for 2.5 days.